John McDuling has been named the victor of the ACS Excellence in IT Journalism Award 2016, winning $10,000 to complete a study tour.

“This is an honour,” McDuling said, before adding that as technology played a greater role in our lives, it was important to write about it in a way for the greater public to understand.

McDuling was presented his prize by the Hon. Dan Tehan MP, the minister assisting the Prime Minister for Cyber Security, at the second annual Excellence in IT Journalism awards at the National Press Club. ACS President Anthony Wong also congratulated McDuling on his win.

A journalist with Fairfax Media writing chiefly for the Australian Financial Review, McDuling beat a tightly contested field, with journalists from the ABC, The Australian, The West Australian, The World Today, and Mashable all vying for the prestigious title and cash prize.

McDuling will also have his name grace the Honour Board permanently displayed at the National Press Club.

Journalists Christopher Griffith of the Australian and Ariel Bogle of Mashable won a Highly Commended prize and each awarded $500.

The ACS Excellence in IT Journalism Award recognises journalists who have contributed the best work on IT journalism within a set 12-month period.

As a condition of entering the ACS Excellence in IT Journalism Awards, the winner must complete a study tour of their choosing, and report back to the Australian Computer Society (ACS) leadership on their key learnings and insights.

Last year’s winner, Mitchell Bingemann from the Australian, recently completed a study tour in San Francisco and is expected to report back in due course.