Founders of the online creativity hub, Envato, Collis and Cyan Ta'eed, have won the Pearcey Foundation’s National Entrepreneur Award.

The award recognises inspiring leadership, scale, impact, innovation and acclaim on the world stage.

The Ta’eeds having grown Envato from a start-up in 2006, to accruing $37.1 million in profits last year.

The company’s percentage of female employees has also grown by 10% since its inception, and it has been labelled as one of the ‘coolest’ places to work due to its diversity.

The award was presented as part of the ACS 2017 Digital Disruptors Awards, alongside the announcement of the Pearcey Hall of Fame inductees and the Pearcey Medal for Lifetime Achievement winner.

The first of the two titles were awarded to former Labor Senator Kate Lundy and tech journalist and commentator Helen Meredith, both whom Pearcey Foundation National Chair, Wayne Fitzsimmons, said had made significant contributions to Australian ICT.

“Kate has been a tireless advocate for innovation and for the recognition and support of the local ICT sector. Her accessibility has given our sector a ‘voice’ in Canberra; and her frank feedback to industry was always appreciated.

“Helen was active in the establishment in 1989 of Females in IT and Telecommunications with the express purpose of inspiring women to achieve their career aspirations and potential at all levels and disciplines in ICT,” he said.

The Pearcey Medal for Lifetime Achievement winner was announced as Emeritus Professor Dr Mike Miller AO, recognising his distinguished lifetime achievement and contribution to the development and growth of ICT in Australia, as founding director of the Institute for Telecommunications Research. Miller, alongside Lundy and Meredith, was also inducted to the Hall of Fame.

“As well as publishing internationally and widely, Mike has focussed over many years on developing the entrepreneurship capabilities within his University of South Australia student cohort,” said Fitzsimmons.

“This has resulted in several notable start-ups emerging, including Cohda Wireless, Myriota, and m.Net.”

More information about the Pearcey Foundation and state winners can be found here.