Journalist Paul Farrell was awarded the inaugural ACS Achievement in Investigative Journalism Award at the 16th annual ACS IT Journalism Awards.

The award was for his investigation into Medicare card numbers for sale on the dark web, written for The Guardian.

Farrell won $2000 as part of his prize.

The ACS IT Journalism Awards were held at Luna Park last Friday night and recognise the best in Australian technology reporting.

Congratulations to all the winners:

Alicia Camphuisen Best New Journalist

Nico Arboleda

Highly Commended: Julian Rizzo-Smith, Daniel Crowd, Justin Hendry

Best Gaming Journalist

David Milner

Highly Commended: Tim Colwill, Lucy O'Brien

Best Telecommunications Journalist

Ry Crozier

Highly Commended: Leon Spencer, Petroc Wilton

Best Security Journalist

Allie Coyne

Highly Commended: Patrick Gray

Best Technical Journalist

David Braue

Highly Commended: Patrick Gray

Paul Zucker Best Technology Industry Journalist

Brad Howarth

Highly Commended: Paul Smith

Best Columnist

Mark Pesce

Highly Commended: Krishan Sharma

Best Technology Issues Journalist

Claire Reilly

Highly Commended: Paul Smith

Best Business Technology Coverage


Highly Commended: CRN

John Costello Best Business Technology Journalist

Paul Smith

Highly Commended: Chris Griffith

Cass Warneminde Best News Journalist

Anthony Klan

Highly Commended: Chris Pash

Best News Coverage


Highly Commended:

Helen Dancer Best Consumer Technology Journalist

Seamus Byrne

Highly Commended: Kristofor Lawson, Asha McLean

Best Consumer Technology Coverage


Highly Commended: The Today Show - Channel 9, Fairfax Media

Best Reviewer

Djuro Sen

Highly Commended: Krishan Sharma, Alex Choros, Daniel Van Boom

Best Gaming Coverage

IGN Australia

Highly Commended: Game Informer

Pioneer of IT Media

Peter Blasina

ACS Award for Achievement in Investigative Journalism

Paul Farrell

Best Corporate Content

Brian Corrigan

Highly Commended: Alex Walker

David Hellaby Best Media Relations Award

David Wolf, Closer Communciations

Highly Commended: Matthew Wu, Telstra

Best Independent Media

Moonshot Podcast

Highly Commended: Ausdroid Media, Vooks

Best Journalist

Paul Smith

Best Title