IBM1620 UWA's first stored program digital computer - 1962


In 1962, the first stored-program digital computer was installed in Western Australia by Dennis Moore. Also in 1962, the Western Australian Computer Society was formed with Dennis as the Chair. He then led that Society into the formation of the national Australian Computer Society with Dennis as the inaugural Chair.

Dennis has proposed an annual award to encourage excellence by university students in ICT.


  • To recognise and encourage excellence by WA students in ICT
  • To raise the image of ACS in the University population in WA
  • To commemorate the 50th anniversary of computing in WA
  • The award will be made annually

 THE 1962 PRIZE:

  • The prize is known as the ACS WA 1962 Prize.
  • The prize is $1,000 awarded annually to the best student completing an undergraduate degree in the Information Technology and Computing field.


  • Universities to nominate final-year undergraduate students to apply.
  • Students may apply directly.
  • Selection will be based on an applicant’s student record, their achievements and potential.
  • From the finalists, the overall “winner” will be selected and THE 1962 Prize will be presented at the Dennis Moore Distinguished Oration Dinner held in the second half of each year.
  • The closing date for submissions is Friday 15 April 2016

How to Apply:

The Entry Form and acceptance of the terms and conditions must be completed online