ACS is making changes to its migration skills assessment, effective from 1 July.

Under the updated scheme, cyber security will be assessed as its own occupation discipline under ANZSCO Unit Group 2621.

As a result, applicants looking to be recognised for skills as an ‘ICT Security Specialist’ will be assessed under different criteria to the other occupations in the unit group.

Previously, applicants for all three occupations, ‘ICT Security Specialist’, ’Database Adminstrator’, and ‘Systems Administrator’ were assessed under the same criteria, meaning a person with experience and qualifications in database management could receive a visa as a security specialist.

ACS’ new methods to determine an individual’s cyber security bona fides include reviewing skillsets based on industry needs.

ACS recently began accrediting higher education cyber security courses.

In December last year, Deakin University became the first Australian university to offer ACS-accredited cyber security courses.

Businesses have been feeling the need for cyber security experts lately, with a spate of attacks on Australian businesses like Toll Group, and brewer Lion Australia.

The sector has also seen an increase in profitability with the likes of Australian cyber security startup Kasada recently raising $14 million from investors.

Digital only and the Seoul Accord

Further changes to ACS skills assessment include removing the eligibility of non-digital electronics qualifications and a formal process for assessing qualifications recognised through the Seoul Accord.

Applicants who want to be assessed under the Seoul Accord must provide sufficient evidence that their qualification is recognised.

The Seoul Accord aims to ensure international ICT education and qualifications accredited by signature organisations are mutually recognised for the purpose of migration skills assessment.

ACS has been a signatory of the Seoul Accord since it was created in 2008.

Other signatories include accredication bodies from South Korea, the US, UK, Canada, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and Japan.