CodeBrew is a Melbourne-based weekend long hackathon for university students run by the University of Melbourne’s Computing and Information Systems Students Association (CISSA).

The 48 hour long hackathon took place last weekend, 18 - 20 March, at the York Butter Factory in Melbourne’s CBD. The co-working space was initially set up in 2011 for Melbourne's high-potential early-stage technology entrepreneurs.

CodeBrew’s theme for 2016 was Food & Innovation. Teams of five or six from various universities worked together to design and build working software/web prototypes and applications.

Entries developed an eclectic range of outcomes including apps for distributing excess food from retailers and restaurants to charities, home cooked meal ordering services and a device that fired marshmallows!

ACS was a principal sponsor of the event and Rod Dilnutt, Vice Chair of ACS Victoria, represented ACS at the awards ceremony.  Major sponsors were The University of Melbourne and Optiver. Other sponsors who presented prizes and acted as mentors were Atlassian, The Wade Institute, Iress, SAP, .tech and the York Butter Factory, who generously allowed CodeBrew to use their space.

And the winners were…

1st Place Prize of $2,000:

*    Shivank Sharma
*    Muhammad Altaf
*    Rakesh Khemaram
*    Joshua Cheung
*    Oliver Shi
*    Dain Liffman
2nd Place Prize of $1,000:
Cook Connect

*    Tobias Edwards
*    Jonathan Grigg
*    Angie Hu
*    Daniel Ip
*    Myles Adam
3rd Place Prize of $500:
*    Michael Marshall
*    Max Lee
*    Garth Lam
*    JiaHong Fong
*    Michelle Mannering

All 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners received a complimentary 12 month ACS membership. ACS commends all teams on their hard work over the two day hackathon.

CodeBrew Hackathon
Pictured above: CodeBrew Organising Committee & Rod Dillnut, Vice-Chair of ACS Victoria