Two brothers who jointly founded telecoms company Macquarie Technology Group have won the 2023 Pearcey Medal.

The Pearcey Medal recognises individuals who have a lifetime of achievement and contribution to the development and growth of the ICT industry in Australia.

Aidan and David Tudehope were recognised for their efforts in creating what is now a $1 billion business to disrupt the telco sector in 1992.

Pearcey Foundation chair, Wayne Fitzsimmons OAM, said the pair were worthy recipients because of their “success in innovating with technology and business models to disrupt the monopoly in the telecommunications sector, and then to expand successfully into allied technology services and products for customers in Australia and across Asia.”

Also at the Pearcey Foundation's National Awards Gala held in Sydney last night, Professor Jean Armstrong and Richard White were inducted into the Pearcey Hall of Fame.

Professor Armstrong is an expert in the field of high-speed data transmission and digital communication. Her research work on orthogonal frequency division multiplexing has led to commercialised patents.

Richard White founded WiseTech Global, a $20 billion international logistics software company. White is also an avid supporter of various tech education initiatives and education programs.

Didie Elzinga of Victoria was named the winner of the Pearcey National Entrepreneur Award.

The State Pearcey Entrepreneur Award winners were:

ACT: Marcus Dawe, co-founder and CEO of MCi Carbon

NSW: Emma Weston, co-founder and CEO of AgriDigital

Qld: Yas Grigaliunas, founder and evangelist at Circonomy

SA: Dr Brenton Cooper, co-founder and CEO of Fivecast

Tas: Damian Ivereigh, founder and CEO, Launtel

Vic: Didier Elzinga, founder and CEO of Culture Amp

WA: Pia Turcinov AM, Fund WA director